Wine Country Half Marathon- Here I Come!

The whole saga of moving and getting settled back in Portland definitely threw my schedule for a loop. Now that things have calmed down, I’ve been so happy to discover that I finally have a lot more free time than I was used to in New York. One of the best parts about that (besides even more time to blog and cook), is that I can finally have a normal workout schedule. It’s been so on and off over the last few years (maybe more than a few); I would say I haven’t had a normal workout schedule since I rowed my freshman year of college.

To help get myself out of my fitness rut- I’ve signed up for another half marathon! Last year I ran my very first half- the Brooklyn Rock & Roll Half Marathon in the Rock & Roll series. It was a great personal challenge, I’d never run more than a 10K and was looking for a way to push myself! I ended up hitting my goal pace and finished in 1:50:40.

Because it’s so much more fun when there is food / alcohol involved, I’m running the Oregon Wine Country Half Marathon, produced by Destination Races. While I really wanted to combine a race with traveling to a new destination (like Destination Races’ Napa to Sonoma half), I settled for a location closer to home, but one that is still new to me. Since I haven’t really been back to Portland much since I turned 21, I haven’t visited any part of wine country yet! The run is in August so it will be the perfect time for wine tasting.

I’m really looking forward to this, my training plan is already in my calendar!

Leave a comment